Medium fey, chaotic evil

Armor Class 17 (natural armor)

Hit Points 91 (14d8+28)

Speed 30 ft.

13 (+1) 16 (+3) 14 (+2) 12 (+1) 13 (+1) 16 (+3)

Saving Throws Wis +4

Skills Nature +4, Perception +4, Stealth +6, Survival +4

Damage Immunities cold

Senses darkvision 60 ft.

Languages Auran, Common, Giant

Challenge 7 (2,900 XP)

Graystaff Magic. The hag carries a graystaff, a length of gray wood that is a focus for her inner power. She can ride the staff as if it were a broom of flying. While holding the staff, she can cast additional spells with her Innate Spellcasting trait (these spells are marked with an asterisk). If the staff is lost or destroyed, the hag must craft another, which takes a year and a day. Only a bheur hag can use a graystaff.

Ice Walk. The hag can move across and climb icy surfaces without needing to make an ability check. Additionally, difficult terrain composed of ice or snow doesn’t cost her extra moment.

Innate Spellcasting. The hag’s innate spellcasting ability is Charisma (spell save DC 14, +6 to hit with spell attacks). She can innately cast the following spells, requiring no material components:

At will: hold person,* ray of frost

3/day each: cone of cold,* ice storm, wall of ice

1/day each: control weather

Hag Coven. When hags must work together, they form covens, in spite of their selfish natures. A coven is made up of hags of any type, all of whom are equals within the group. However, each of the hags continues to desire more personal power.

A coven consists of three hags so that any arguments between two hags can be settled by the third. If more than three hags ever come together, as might happen if two covens come into conflict, the result is usually chaos.

Shared Spellcasting (Coven Only). While all three members of a hag coven are within 30 feet of one another, they can each cast the following spells from the wizard’s spell list but must share the spell slots among themselves:

  • 1st level (4 slots): identify, ray of sickness

  • 2nd level (3 slots): hold person, locate object

  • 3rd level (3 slots): bestow curse, counterspell, lightning bolt

  • 4th level (3 slots): phantasmal killer, polymorph

  • 5th level (2 slots): contact other plane, scrying

  • 6th level (1 slot): eyebite

For casting these spells, each hag is a 12th-level spellcaster that uses Intelligence as her spellcasting ability. The spell save DC is 12+the hag’s Intelligence modifier, and the spell attack bonus is 4+the hag’s Intelligence modifier.

Hag Eye (Coven Only). A hag coven can craft a magic item called a hag eye, which is made from a real eye coated in varnish and often fitted to a pendant or other wearable item. The hag eye is usually entrusted to a minion for safekeeping and transport. A hag in the coven can take an action to see what the hag eye sees if the hag eye is on the same plane of existence. A hag eye has AC 10, 1 hit point, and darkvision with a radius of 60 feet. If it is destroyed, each coven member takes 3d10 psychic damage and is blinded for 24 hours.

A hag coven can have only one hag eye at a time, and creating a new one requires all three members of the coven to perform a ritual. The ritual takes 1 hour, and the hags can’t perform it while blinded. During the ritual, if the hags take any action other than performing the ritual, they must start over.

Variant: Death Coven. For a death coven, replace the spell list of the hags’ Shared Spellcasting trait with the folllowing spells:

1st level (4 slots): false life, inflict wounds

2nd level (3 slots): gentle repose, ray of enfeeblement

3rd level (3 slots): animate dead, revivify, speak with dead

4th level (3 slots): blight, death ward

5th level (2 slots): contagion, raise dead

6th level (1 slot): circle of death

Variant: Nature Coven. For a nature coven, replace the spell list of the hags’ Shared Spellcasting trait with the folllowing spells:

1st level (4 slots): entangle, speak with animals

2nd level (3 slots): flaming sphere, moonbeam, spike growth

3rd level (3 slots): call lightning, plant growth

4th level (3 slots): dominate beast, grasping vine

5th level (2 slots): insect plague, tree stride

6th level (1 slot): wall of thorns

Variant: Prophecy Coven. For a prophecy coven, replace the spell list of the hags’ Shared Spellcasting trait with the folllowing spells:

1st level (4 slots): bane, bless

2nd level (3 slots): augury, detect thoughts

3rd level (3 slots): calirvoyance, dispel magic, nondetection

4th level (3 slots): arcane eye, locate creature

5th level (2 slots): geas, legend lore

6th level (1 slot): true seeing


Slam. Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit:10 (2d8+1) bludgeoning damage plus 3 (1d6) cold damage.

Maddening Feast. The hag feasts on the corpse of one enemy within 5 feet of her that died within the past minute. Each creature of the hag’s choice that is within 60 feet of her and able to see her must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of her for 1 minute. While frightened in this way, a creature is incapacitated, can’t understand what others say, can’t read, and speaks only in gibberish; the DM controls the creature’s movement, which is erratic. A creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. If a creature’s saving throw is successful or the effect ends for it, the creature is immune to the hag’s Maddening Feast for the next 24 hours.